Blatant Bibliophile Blog

…feeling the need to read

Archive for November 13th, 2007

Oprah Removes Book from Reading List

Posted by blatantbibliophiles on November 13, 2007


Oprah Winfrey recently removed a discredited book, The Education of Little Tree by Forrest Carter,  from the recommended reading list on her website. The book began to arouse suspicion shortly after it was published in 1976, partly because the author was identified as Asa Earl Carter, a member of the Ku Klux Klan and a segregationist speechwriter for racist Alabama governor George Wallace. The book claimed to be the nonfiction story of a boy raised by his Cherokee grandparents, and sold millions of copies. Oprah admits she was once fond of the book because of the boys relationship with his grandparents and his love of nature, but she took it off her shelf when she learned of Carter’s true background. For a complete story about this incident, click here. For an informative article written by a librarian who is also a Nambe Pueblo Indian woman click here.

Posted in Books, Reading | Tagged: , , | Leave a Comment »

“Inheritance” Fans, Rejoice!

Posted by blatantbibliophiles on November 13, 2007


Thanks to Ms. Hamilton’s Unquiet Library blog for this info about Christopher Paolini’s latest news about a sequel to the Eragon “Inheritance” series.

Christopher Paolini’s million-selling “Inheritance” fantasy series, originally planned as a trilogy, is being extended to four books, publisher Alfred A. Knopf announced .

The first two books, Eragon and Eldest, have sold more than 12 million copies worldwide. The third book, currently untitled, is scheduled to be released in print and audiobook format on September 23, 2008.

“I plotted out the `Inheritance’ series as a trilogy nine years ago, when I was 15. At that time, I never imagined I’d write all three books, much less that they would be published,” Paolini said in a statement.

“When I finally delved into Book Three, it soon became obvious that the remainder of the story was far too big to fit in one volume. … In order to be true to my characters and to address all of the plot points and unanswered questions Eragon and Eldest raised, I needed to split the end of the series into two books.”  The four books will be called the Inheritance Cycle.  You can view the video of Paolini’s announcement at

Paolini began writing the series, the story of a boy named Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, when he was 15, and his parents self-published the book in 2002, when he was 18. Knopf published it a year later.

You can stay updated on all things Christopher Paolini by surfing over to his official website at!  You can also receive email updates about Paolini’s books from

Posted in Books, Reading | Tagged: , , | Leave a Comment »