Blatant Bibliophile Blog

…feeling the need to read

Posts Tagged ‘awards’

ALA Presents Youth Media Awards

Posted by blatantbibliophiles on January 26, 2009

Video Webcast Powered by Unikron – ALA Webcast via kwout

Right now the ALA is holding its Midwinter Conference and today they are announcing their Youth Media Awards. These include the Coretta Scott King Award, the Alex Award, awarded to adult books with special appeal for young adults, named for Margaret Alexander Edwards, a young adult librarian.  The books include City of Thieves, The Dragons of Babble, Finding Nouf, The Good Thief, Just After Sunset, Mudbound, Over and Under, The Oxford Project, Sharp Teeth, and Three Girls and Their Brother. Jim Rettig, President of the Young Adult Library Services Association division of ALA (YALSA) presented awards for the Schneider Family Book Award, which recognizes people with disabilities,  to Piano Starts Here: the Young Art Tatum; Waiting for Normal; and Jerk, California. Deborah Taylor presented the winner of the Coretta Scott King Book Award which honors authors and illustrators of books which honor the memory and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The John Steptoe New Talent Award was awarded to Shadra Strickland, illustrator of Bird. Honor awards for illustrators went to Kadir Nelson, Sean Qualls, and Jerry Pinkney. Floyd Cooper received the Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award for The Blacker the Berry. Hope Anita Smith, Joyce Carol Smith, and Carole Boston Weatherford received honor author awards. Kadir Nelson received the Coretta Scott King Author Award for We Are the Ship: The Story of the Negro League Baseball. Honor recipients of the Odyssey Award for the best audiobook available in English in the United States were Curse of the Blue Tattoo, Elijah of Buxton, I’m Dirty!, Martina the Beautiful Cockroach, and Nation. The winner of the Odyssey award was The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian. The Margaret A. Edwards Award winner for significant and lasting contribution to YA literature was Laurie Halse Anderson for Fever 1793, Catalyst, and Speak. Nominees for the William C. Morris Award for previously unpublished authors included: A Curse Dark As Gold; Graceling; Absolute Brightness; Madapple; and Me, The Missing, and the Dead. The winner was A Curse Dark as Gold. The Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in Young Adult Literature included The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, The Disreputable Life of Frankie Landau-Banks, Nation, and Tender Morsels. the winner was Jellicoe Road. The Pura Belpre Award which honors Latino writers included three illustrator honor books: Papa and Me, The Storyteller’s Candle, and What Can You Do with a Rebozo? The winner was Just in Case. The Mildred L. Batchelder Award honor books included Garmann’s Summer and Tiger Moon. The winner, for books originally published in other languages and translated into English, went to Moribito. The Laura Ingalls Wilder Award went to author/illustrator Ashley Bryan. The Andrew Carnegie Medal for outstanding children’s video went to March On! The Day My Brother Martin Changed the World. The video was produced by the sister of the Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. Are You Ready to Play Outside? won the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award. The House in the Night was the winner of the Caldecott Medal for outstanding illustration of a children’s book. The Newbery Award honor books for the most distinguished children’s book included The Underneath, The Surrender Tree Poems, Savvy,  and After Tupac & D Foster. The winner of the Newbery Medal was The Graveyard Book. For more information and for corrections on my hastily-written blog, visit the ALA website.

Posted in Authors, Books | Tagged: , , , , | Leave a Comment »

2008 Award Winners Are Announced!

Posted by blatantbibliophiles on January 14, 2008


The American Library Association announced today the winners of its awards for outstanding children’s and young adult’s literature. The 2008 winner of the Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature is The White Darkness, by Geraldine McCaughrean. Honor Books included:

  • Dreamquake: Book Two of the Dreamhunter Duet by Elizabeth Knox
  • One Whole and Perfect Day by Judith Clarke
  • Repossessed by A. M. Jenkins
  • Your Own, Sylvia: A Verse Portrait of Sylvia Plath by Stephanie Hemphill

Winner of the Coretta Scott King author award was Christopher Paul Curtis for Elijah of Buxton. The Coretta Scott King illustrator award was presented to Ashley Bryan for Let it Shine. The Coretta Scott King Awards are given to African American authors and illustrators for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions; the Coretta Scott King Book Award titles promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream. The 2008 Caldecott medal winner for the most distinguished American picture book for children was The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick. Honor books included:

  • Henry’s Freedom Box: A True Story from the Underground Railrod illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Ellen Levine
  • First the Egg, written and illustrated by Laura Vaccaro Seeger
  • The Wall: Growing Up Behind the Iron Curtain, written and illustrated by Peter Sís
  • Knuffle Bunny Too: A Case of Mistaken Identity, written and illustrated Mo Willems

The 2008 Newbery Award for the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children was presented to Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village by Laura Amy Schlitz. Newbery Honor Books included:

  • Elijah of Buxton by Christopher Paul Curtis
  • The Wednesday Wars by Gary D. Schmidt
  • Feathers by Jacqueline Woodson

Posted in Books, Reading | Tagged: , | Leave a Comment »