Blatant Bibliophile Blog

…feeling the need to read

Posts Tagged ‘Right Behind You’

And The Winner Is…

Posted by blatantbibliophiles on April 1, 2009

Are we Creekview readers omniscient, or are we just perceptive readers? Remember when I posted the results of ourCreekview votes on the 2008-2009 Georgia Peach Book Award nominees? Remember that I predicted that our number one vote-getter, Impulse by Ellen Hopkins, and our number three pick, Uglies by Scott Westerfeld, would be in the top three? Well, we were right! The winner of the 2009 Georgia Peach Book Award is Impulse by Ellen Hopkins. Runners up are Uglies by Scott Westerfeld and Right Behind You by Gail Giles. The winners were announced today at the Kennesaw State University Conference on Literature for Children and Young Adults. And I was there!

First, I heard Laurie Halse Anderson AGAIN! She is not only an amazing author, but a fabulous speaker as well. I heard her yesterday and today, and I could listen to her again tomorrow without being bored. You probably read Speak in ninth grade, and I hope you read Twisted, one of this year’s Peach Book Award nominees, especially if you’re a guy. Both of these books are excellent. But you should also check out her other YA titles such as her historical thrillers, Fever 1793 and Chains. Catalyst is an excellent choice for fans of Speak, and Prom is perfect for those looking for something lighter.

Our second speaker was breakout author Bill Konigsberg. Bill has written a book called Out of the Pocket that has gotten great reviews and I can’t wait to read it. After I finish you can read my AUTOGRAPHED copy. If you liked Absolutely, Positively Not, I think you’ll like Out of the Pocket. It was recentlychosen for the New York Public Library’s Stuff for the Teen Age List. The Cooperative Children’s Book Center also lists it as one of their 2009 Choices for Teen Novels. It was also nominated for a Lambda Literary Award and was added to ALA’s 2009 Rainbow List. Bill is one of the nicest people you will ever meet!

The conference closed with author Ned Vizzini. Ned is the author of Be More Chill and It’s Kind of a Funny Story. Nick is a hilarious speaker who was first published at age fifteen. And then he ended up in a mental hospital. Ned now speaks to teens at schools through his program called Angstspiration. He realizes that many of today’s teens deal with the anxiety of over-achievement and that sometimes it can be an easy transition from over-achievement to institutionalization. If you have a problem with stress, Ned’s books are for you. You can also borrow my AUTOGRAPHED copies of these books. And talk to a trusted adult who can help you find some assistance.

Posted in Authors, Books, contests, Georgia Peach Book Award | Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »